I have never…

I have never…made a cheesecake

Supplies

I’ll be honest with you, I love to bake. Cupcakes, Victoria Sponges or a nice chocolate fudge cake- I have been there and I have done that. But I’ve always found that the cheese cake has been the most daunting and there’s not even cooking involved (unless you want to make the biscuits yourself but who am I? NIGELLA? No.)

So as we were doing things we’d never done, this seemed like the perfect opportunity to face the cheesecake fear. After a quick run to Tesco I was ready to get my strawberry cheesecake on the go.

What you need:

  • Soft cheese (I opted for the cheapest I could get, Tesco Value, because, well, student budget..)
  • Digestive biscuits
  • Icing sugar
  • Double cream
  • Vanilla (in the recipe I used it said vanilla pod but I just used vanilla extract. Beggars can’t be choosers)
  • Strawberries
  • Butter

Don’t fret guys, I’ll give you the whole recipe later and you can try and make this cheesecake you see below.

I started out by hitting the biscuits with a rolling pin to create a crumbly biscuit base and did this until they were fine crumbs. You have to make sure there are no thick pieces in the bowl. I should say now, if you’re in a bad mood, making this cheesecake WILL help, the bashing biscuits was therapeutic and released a lot of anger (and nerves I had for cheesecake). I then melted butter and added it to the biscuit. Stir, stir, stir and you have your “cake” base. Now put in the mould and press it down to make sure it’s all level.

Now put it in the fridge for an hour and let it set.

I then started on the “cheese” part. Empty all the packets of cheese into the bowl. Add the icing sugar and vanilla and mix until smooth. When you’ve reached “smooth” status, gently add in the cream and mix again until smooth. Please do refrain from eating the mixture as you go on.

Take the base out of the fridge, add the mixture to the top and put back into the fridge. Pretty simple really.

So by now you should have yourself a cheesecake, however then you have to decide what kind of topping you want. A lot of people tend to choose a chocolate or vanilla topping but being a fruity person, I chose strawberry. Whilst scoping out the recipe for this task, I saw lots of recipes that just told people to throw the strawberries on, but I knew I wanted to make sauce for the top and it turned out to be quite easy. All it entailed was a bit of icing sugar, a bit of water and a blender (or a masher) and puree the strawbs. Parfait!

ET VOILA!

I haven’t yet tasted the cheesecake, and I’m not sure if I will and just let my housemates try instead. It looks and smells good but there’s always that final worry. The recipe was easy enough to follow and the actual making didn’t take long, there’s just a lot of waiting for it to set and I can be quite impatient so I think that’s been the only downfall of the cheesecake experience. But all in all, I definitely would do it again and who knows, maybe I’ll turn into a cheesecake connoisseur or even start up my own cheesecake empire….well maybe just in my dreams.

Here is the original recipe I used. Enjoy!

About Genevieve Torabi

A writer who is enchanted by people, places and problems. A Londoner at heart, Genevieve has spent time in New York where she was inspired by the people she had encountered whilst interning at various publications.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
