I have never…

I have never… customised my wardrobe.

DIY fashion has become more and more popular over the past few years, and being a student and all, what better (and cheaper) way to spice up my summer wardrobe, than try and alter a few old things myself?

I’m constantly on the lookout for different ways to make old things new, and one trend that caught my eye last summer (although, I didn’t quite get round to it), was studding. Watching my favourite Youtube gurus redesigning their old jeans or jackets, inspired me to want to try it myself. And, the best part was, all I needed was some old clothes, some studs, a pair of pliers or scissors, and a bit of free time… something I had plenty of. So, I ordered myself some cheap pyramid studs off Ebay, and started watching a few tutorials on easy ways to stud clothes.

Studding is surprisingly easy, and so once I got the hang of it, I was away. I studded pretty much anything I could get my hands on, and here are some examples:

Just simply pierce the stud through the material, and using a pair of pliers/scissors, or even the back of a hairbrush, bend the spiked teeth inwards, to keep the studs in place.

In my opinion, a great way to reinvent some key pieces for the summer. The only problems I came across was that sometimes the material was a bit too thick for the studs, and my hands also started to hurt after a while. Note to self: don’t leave studs lying about otherwise you will stand on them, and they will hurt. A lot.

After my weekend of studding my ENTIRE wardrobe, I decided to challenge myself that bit further, and try some tie-dyeing. And with tie-dye and acid wash being huge at the moment, what a great way to make use of my time! This is where having a fashion design student in my flat came in handy, as she’d done it before, and so this should have been a piece of cake. Unfortunately, my lazy habits came in to play, and I practically relied on her to help me on even the most miniscule of tasks.

If you are planning on tie-dying anything yourself, here’s what you’ll need:

–       the actual clothing you’ll be planning on dyeing

–       the dye – there are multiple types of dye you can use. You can order the dye online, or purchase some specialty dye at your local craft store (being in London, there’s plenty to choose from), however, luckily for me, my flatmate had some handy, so I didn’t have to

–       some rubber bands

–       rubber gloves to protect your skin

–       newspapers to protect the area around you – unless you’re planning on tie-dying your entire home!

–       Plastic bag/bin bag

So, here’s how it works:

Step 1 – cover your work area (we used the kitchen table) with newspapers to protect the surface

Step 2 – Mix your dye powder with water (instructions can be found on the label)

Step 3 – Using the rubber bands, pinch the material in the areas that you want the dye to cover

Step 4 – Place the dye (now mixed with the water) in the plastic squeeze bottles.

Step 5 – squeeze the dye through the nozzle on to the pinched areas

Step 6 – wrap the clothing in plastic wrap (use the plastic bag)

Step 7 – leave for min. 4 hours, and then wash in hot water. Note: the longer you leave the clothes wrapped, the more intense the colours will appear.

Having done this (and almost failed, if it weren’t for my trusty genius of a flatmate) I thought to put together some top tips, to ensure that you don’t fail and ruin your clothes yourself.

Top tips:

–       Light coloured denim is probably easier, and more successful to dye, unless you bleach the denim prior to tie-dyeing (which we did)

–       Denim is a lot thicker than cotton, so dyeing denim clothes will require more dye.

–       How you wash these items is important! In the first few washes, the dye might ‘bleed’, and so wash them alone, and preferable in cold water at first.

–       Before you dye your clothes, you should wash them first.

–       Make sure you wear some old clothes that you don’t mind ruining a bit, otherwise you’ll risk ruining your nice clothes with the dye.

–       Once you get the hang of it, you can mix colours, wear down the denim with a cheese grater to add to the effect, and scrunch up the denim, too!

So, that’s that. I studded and tie-dyed to my heart’s content, all for the benefit of this blog! I thoroughly enjoyed this experience, although I must admit, it was rather time consuming. The studding was definitely easier, and if you mess it up, it’s a lot easier to correct, for sure. I would advise anyone to try either of these DIY methods, because they are lots of fun, and a cheaper way to liven up your summer wardrobe. After all, a student’s gotta’ do what a student’s gotta’ do…

3 comments on “I have never… customised my wardrobe.

  1. Pingback: Dip Dye for Him and Her « EXCHANGE MAGAZINE SA

  2. Pingback: Jeany in a Bottle « astimegoesbuy

  3. Pingback: Jeany in a Bottle – Part 2 « astimegoesbuy

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 5, 2012 by .
